RSS

The ups and downs of pumping it up

01 Apr
The ups and downs of pumping it up

Been absent for awhile but it couldn’t be helped! We have been on what seems like a long strange trip but in actuality it’s only been a week! Let me explain. We decided last year to put our dear darling son on an insulin pump for his Type 1 diabetes. Everyone says it’s the greatest thing and it makes life some much better. Well, I call Bullshit! What they don’t tell you, what would be considered the “rest of the story” is that in the beginning it can be pure hell and an absolutely roller coaster of a ride. Our son was well managed with the shots we have been doing for the past three years! I’m wondering now if we should have stuck with that method! I am having to get up at midnight and 3 am to check his blood sugar overnight. I never had to do that before! Needless to say with a full time job and the stress of this new experience, my nerves have been frazzled!! Thank goodness for classic rock played a high volume on my drive home!! 😉 so this is going to serve as a couple of Blog Share entries,! Hope you enjoy!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2014 in Blog hops, The Dear Darlings

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “The ups and downs of pumping it up

  1. Louise

    April 2, 2014 at 12:18 am

    I think this is my first visit to your blog (I love your blog name, I think I would have remembered it). I also always enjoy the Grateful Dead 🙂 Sorry to hear the treatment method you’re using is such a lot of work.

     
    • msenecal68

      April 2, 2014 at 1:35 am

      Thanks Louise! I usually try to keep it light but sometimes I just have to say what I feel!

       
      • Louise

        April 2, 2014 at 1:38 am

        I think that’s part of the point of a blog in my opinion…. having a space to let out how you feel when you need to.

         
  2. Jen

    April 2, 2014 at 12:52 am

    Dude. I am soooo sorry for that. Stress when you’re worrying about a child is SO much worse than any other type of stress. I can so attest to that!
    Meanwhile, thanks for the ride! I hope you can join us for one of the two mixes left before Hiatus!

     
    • msenecal68

      April 2, 2014 at 1:38 am

      Thanks Jen! I’ll do my best and I’ll miss the links to awesome music!! I’ll be looking out for your return!q

       
  3. Joy Christi

    April 2, 2014 at 1:10 am

    OH that just sucks all over. I’m so sorry. I hope it’s just an adjustment, and it starts to get better right away. I know a few people who do much better with their pump, but everyone is different.
    I hope you get some sleep, and your son feels better, and when/if you can, keep us posted! We’re pulling for both of you. (that and a buck might get ya a cup of coffee, but hey, we’re there in spirit!)

     
    • msenecal68

      April 2, 2014 at 1:40 am

      Hehe thanks Joy! I know it will even out eventually but until then, I’ll just do my best and trust in the doctors to figure this out and lead us in the right direction!!

       
  4. cynkingfeeling

    April 2, 2014 at 2:45 am

    You would think a pump would be more convenient, but it sounds like it has just added a new level of stress. I hope things work out.

     
  5. The Regular Guy NYC

    April 2, 2014 at 5:46 am

    So sorry to hear that about your son. Hope as time goes by it will get better. We have a few diabetics in our family and they use the insulin shots. Not sure about the pump.

     
  6. Bryan Jones

    April 2, 2014 at 10:58 am

    Sounds like a grueling bind managing your son’s diabetes; I hope things settle down soon.

    Thanks for the music – particularly the Grateful Dead, which I’d not heard for a while.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Introducing a new author and her new works

Welcome to the home of Brandi MacCurdy, author of The Destined Series

Chanda Kauffman-Harley

A Collection of My Poetry & Prose

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

Her Headache

A place to express myself through writing. a way to make sense of it all. Life as I see it.

Gunmetal Geisha

A case of chronic dichotomy

An Artist at Heart

Tales of life, stories of fiction, and a passion for art

ronovanwrites

Writing to Discover My Self In the World

Scattered Wrecks Fiction

Short Stories and Stuff

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Darla Halyk

We are Stronger Together

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Becoming Vincent

Trans stuff. Ranting. Social justice. Big clocks.

An Honest Sinner

Because nobody likes a lying saint

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

My Likes lol

Pictures, Videos and Gifs that make me lol.

dilettante factory

home of Dilettante Publishing and the diverse creative outlet of HK Abell

Serins Sphere

Serins has left the building

