RSS

Thankful Times Ten

17 May
Thankful Times Ten

Ahoy mates and welcome aboard! Today’s shore leave finds us visiting the wonderful Considerer herself, Lizzi!! I have threatened to contribute to her blog hop Ten Things of Thankful for awhile now but just never seemed to get it done, until today! So sit back, raise a pint of your favorite libation and listen to me tale.

1. Friends to give me a swift kick in the ass to get me back to my writing! With notes of encouragement or flat out challenges, it seems to be working. I have managed to make more posts the past couple of weeks because of them.

2. My dear darling son’s love of music. Namely MY music such as Aerosmith and the like. Makes the drive back and forth to school and anywhere else we go a little more bearable!

3. Support of family, many I have not actually seen in years. This is a grudging “Thank you” to Facebook.

4. The beauty that is the piece of property we live on in the woods of Central Florida.

5. Support of friends and family with suggestions on jobs-both the online ones and the 9-5 variety.

6. Being married to an old fart, umm, older gent whomis old enough to retire and collect Social Security (however much longer that will last). Makes unemployment a little less panic inducing.

7. My dear darling hubby’s barn/man cave where he can hang out and give me some piece and quiet during the day.

8. The wonderful tomato and pepper plants that my hubby and his buddy Johnny are growing. They are thriving and producing lots of veggies! Almost time for a homemade salsa!! Yum!

9. OMG I almost forgot,! Mountain Dew Baja Blast is now available everywhere (almost) and not just at Taco Hell. The only 2 flavors I like are Voltage and Baja Blast. Now I don’t have to put up with bad food for a good drink.

10. To all the pirates who made great rum available all over the world. Until I can get to the Caribbean and find myself a tiki bar at the end of a pier to call my own, here’s to the Captains and wenches that made rum a household staple! Well, at least it is in mine!!

Thanks to Lizzi and her thankful band for putting up with us plundering the blogs for laughter and inspiration.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2014 in Blog hops, The Dear Darlings

 

Tags: , , , , ,

15 responses to “Thankful Times Ten

  1. Louise

    May 17, 2014 at 9:15 pm

    I love when my children like my music! So well done there 😉 I also smiled at the “begrudging nod to Facebook” I hear you on that one as well. And I have a bit of tomato envy now. I only just started prepping my gardens today (we’re further north so I know you guys are farther along) can’t wait until we are too!

    Much thankful this week!

     
    • msenecal68

      May 17, 2014 at 9:23 pm

      Thanks Louise! Hubby also started WAY early! Even having a greenhouse, they started planting seeds at the end of October!! They spread out the planting for a couple of months until the greenhouse got overrun!!

       
  2. Joy in Comfytown

    May 17, 2014 at 10:31 pm

    Music makes the day happy, that’s for sure. Amen to man caves!
    Yo ho ho and a bottle of rum! Had some Rumchata w my coffee this morning. Welcome to TToT!

     
    • msenecal68

      May 17, 2014 at 10:38 pm

      Thanks so much Joy! I am defiantly going to have to try that Rumchata!! I saw it a couple of times and one of my local liquor stores did a tasting and it wasn’t bad! Not enough of a bite for me. Guess I’ll just have to try some sweet in my glass!!

       
  3. lrconsiderer

    May 18, 2014 at 12:08 am

    ARRRRR MATEY! I do love that you joined us. And YAY for music you like – I’m raising Niece and Neff on ‘Man Music’, which basically means most things from the 60’s to the 90’s, that’s loud and funky, sung by men. Love me some Aerosmith.

     
  4. Melanie at My Ottawa Life

    May 18, 2014 at 3:03 am

    Welcome and nice first list! You’re making me seriously consider a garden this year…there is nothing like a ripe, warm tomato and fresh salsa? Even better!
    We’re introducing our little one to “our” music…which was really our parents music because we have a record player and have inherited their records. We’ll see how long it lasts!

     
  5. Sandy Ramsey

    May 18, 2014 at 12:24 pm

    I love your grudging thank you to Facebook. It does have it’s uses, though the list diminishes daily. I’m so glad to have you join us this week. And I see you are a fellow Floridian…a Central Floridian at that. Throw a stone toward Lake Mary and you may hit my house 🙂 This is the second post today that is thankful for Mountain Dew Baja Blast! Do you mix it with the rum?

     
    • msenecal68

      May 19, 2014 at 1:37 am

      Thanks so much Sandy! I’m on the West Coast of Florida. (closer to the water, yay!) As for the rum mixer, I honestly have never tried it. That is usually my caffeine fix since I don’t drink coffee. I use Vernor’s Ginger Ale in my rum!!

       
  6. christine

    May 18, 2014 at 7:43 pm

    Welcome to the TToT!
    You’re the second person I’ve read to be thankful for the bottled Mt. Dew Baja Blast. I didn’t know it was such a thing. 🙂
    I have to grudgingly thank Facebook, too. I put off joining for a long, long time, but I am glad I get to keep in touch with relatives and friends who have moved across the world.
    Our tomato and pepper plants just went into the ground today. It will be awhile before we make salsa. Glad yours are doing well, though!

     
  7. Clark Scottroger

    May 18, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    Welcome to the TToT. (motto: …not just a gratitude blog, it has some seriously strange people writing for it!) this can be a fun, regular stop on the circuit hope to ‘see’ you again!

     
  8. dyannedillon

    May 18, 2014 at 8:55 pm

    Welcome to the TToT! Glad Lizzi persuaded you to join us!

    Thanks to Glee, my daughter likes a lot of the same music I do. Of course, she wouldn’t listen to it pre-Glee when I tried to get her to, but whatever it takes…. Unemployment sucks; glad you have an old fart, I mean, older husband who can collect social security. I think any Mountain Dew tastes like carbonated Janitor in a Drum, so you can enjoy that all you want without me being one bit jealous.

     
  9. msenecal68

    May 19, 2014 at 1:39 am

    Thanks to everyone for the wonderful welcome! I will absolutely have to try and stop in more!! Also enjoyed reading several of the other lists!!

     
  10. Linda Roy

    May 19, 2014 at 8:30 pm

    Isn’t it the greatest when the kids like OUR music?! Makes life so much easier and listenable. 😉

     
    • msenecal68

      May 19, 2014 at 9:30 pm

      Hi Linda,
      Yes!! He has almost perfect taste in music! Lol he likes my CD’s I have in my truck but he also likes what is referred to as “dub-step” Still not sure what that exactly is. I have heard some that sounds sort of “techno” but some of it, I just don’t get!! Too close to “rap” for my taste! And he fussed at me for referring to “rap” as crap-rap!! Heaven forbid, don’t say I’m too old!! I enjoy a variety of music but rap is one of those headache inducing sounds I just can’t tolerate!! Thanks for stopping by!!

       
  11. kathyradigan

    May 19, 2014 at 9:44 pm

    I also love when my kids love my music! I then know I must being doing something right! Lol! I love reading about what people are thankful for, it always makes me think of everything I am grateful for! Sending good thoughts that your dream job will come to you very quickly! xo

     

Leave a Reply

 
Introducing a new author and her new works

Welcome to the home of Brandi MacCurdy, author of The Destined Series

Chanda Kauffman-Harley

A Collection of My Poetry & Prose

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

Her Headache

A place to express myself through writing. a way to make sense of it all. Life as I see it.

Gunmetal Geisha

A case of chronic dichotomy

An Artist at Heart

Tales of life, stories of fiction, and a passion for art

ronovanwrites

Writing to Discover My Self In the World

Scattered Wrecks Fiction

Short Stories and Stuff

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Darla Halyk

We are Stronger Together

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Becoming Vincent

Trans stuff. Ranting. Social justice. Big clocks.

An Honest Sinner

Because nobody likes a lying saint

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

My Likes lol

Pictures, Videos and Gifs that make me lol.

dilettante factory

home of Dilettante Publishing and the diverse creative outlet of HK Abell

Serins Sphere

Serins has left the building

