RSS

Medical proof that I (was) heartless

02 Jul
Medical proof that I (was) heartless

​I have been called heartless more than once, usually with another adjective after it. (Heartless bitch comes to mind) But having a good looking doctor tell me that was disheartening. (groan, yeah I know)

​It started with what I thought was a bellyache or a stomach bug. I went to the doctor after a few days and she was afraid it was appendicitis so she sent me to the ER. While laying there watching nurses, doctors and everyone else going back and forth, I spied an amazing good-looking specimen of male walking around! Longish, thick, dark hair, he was simply wearing a pair of pale blue scrubs. No white doctor coat, no indication what his job was. Before I could fully appreciate the view, he was walking toward me!! After a few questions and explanations, he informed me he was going to admit me and probably schedule to take my appendix out. He was not just a doctor but a surgeon! My first thought was “Lay your talented hands on me!!” Fortunately I did not say that out loud! (I actually have a shirt that says ‘Note to self Just because it pops into my head does not mean it should come out of my mouth’) Number one, it would not have been inappropriate ( that never stopped me before) and number two, my dear darling hubby was there with me so, there’s that. So I was admitted and put on no food, only IV for three days! Yeah, I know it will keep you alive but it did nothing for my rumbling tummy!

​I underwent surgery without knowing the good looking doc was even in the room! Love what I call the I don’t give a damn shot! After being in the hospital for three days with nothing to eat, I was starved when they finally released me to eat solid food. After three bites I nearly doubled over from pain but I was so hungry, I didn’t pay any attention to the pain or the fact that it was hospital food. So come to find out, there was nothing wrong with my appendix and we were back to square one with me still having pain!

​After being released from the hospital, I was scheduled to be poked, scoped and prodded till it was discovered it was a problem at the top of my system. Sent for barium X-Ray (if you have never done one, one word, nasty!) The technician had me standing up with the machine in front of me. He asked me to take a sip of this stuff in a styrofoam cup that resembled a thick smoothie but heavier and tasteless. As I took a sip and swallowed it he tilted his head to the side (not a good sign). He adjusted the monitor so I could see, asked me do it again. I watched go down my throat, into my chest area wher it made a 90 degree turn! Tech tilted his head the other way (still not a good sign). He decided to do a complete chest x-Ray. After they were developed and analyzed, I was called for an appointment in the good looking docs office.

​There he preceded to show me the film. As we were looking at it he explained something was missing in the X-Ray, namely my heart! I asked him what the mass was that was showing up in my chest cavity. Part of my insides had worked their way up through a hole in my diaphragm, something known as a hiatal hernia! I said to him”You mean to tell me my insides are misplaced!” ? He laughed. Now I know I’m forgetful and unorganized but damn! The pain was from my insides being pulled to the side and upward through the hole. Basically I had a reverse lap band but in the wrong location! So now he was going to have to cut me open, put everything back where it’s supposed to be, fix the hole and sew me back up. So we scheduled surgery with the promise that I would leave everything where it was supposed to stay.

​So on the follow-up X-Ray, everything was back where it was supposed to be and my heart was right where it belonged!! I intend to leave it there along with the rest of my insides and I promised not to misplace any of my other internal organs!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 2, 2014 in Random Wanderings

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Medical proof that I (was) heartless

  1. Carol Cassara (@ccassara)

    July 2, 2014 at 2:21 pm

    You had me at the gorgeous doctor, but then horrors! Unnecessary surgery? WTHeck? Awful
    Glad they finally figured it out and wonder why they didn’t figure it out in the first place. HH aren’t brain surgery. So to speak. I guess you’re lucky they didn’t schedule a heart transplant!
    Carol
    http://carolcassara.com/nothing-sure-everything-possible/

     
    • msenecal68

      July 2, 2014 at 2:59 pm

      Thanks Carol! Well, I was a little confused myself. The pain was in my lower abdomen but the problem was at the top. Needless to say I was NOT happy when he told me there was nothing wrong with my appendix but when you come into the ER with lower abdominal pain and you were sent by a doctor to the ER, well!?

       
  2. Twindaddy

    July 2, 2014 at 5:31 pm

    Yikes. That sounds scary.

     
  3. msenecal68

    July 2, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    Yes TD it was! Not so much scary as frustrating as all get out!! I avoid doctors most of the time for reasons such as this!! Thanks for stopping by!! 😉

     
  4. Kristi Campbell - findingninee

    July 3, 2014 at 3:37 am

    OMG so glad you are okay and OUCH to the gorgeous doctor and your misplaced insides. When I was about 7 years old, I had to take that damn drink and I still remember it now, almost well, too many years later!! I used to get a pain in my side (never anything fixed, it mostly went away). But wait, did they actually remove your appendix???

     
  5. msenecal68

    July 3, 2014 at 7:44 pm

    Yes Kristi, they took out my appendix, tested it (how, I have no idea) and said there was nothing wrong with it!!! That’s when they sent me for a battery of pokes and scopes to determine where the problem was. Problem was at the top, symptoms were at the bottom!!! I’ve always been a little backwards, or upside down in this case!!!

     
  6. naptimethoughts

    July 17, 2014 at 8:26 pm

    They tried to give me barium once. I should have just thrown it in the toilet and skipped the middle man.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Introducing a new author and her new works

Welcome to the home of Brandi MacCurdy, author of The Destined Series

Chanda Kauffman-Harley

A Collection of My Poetry & Prose

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

Her Headache

A place to express myself through writing. a way to make sense of it all. Life as I see it.

Gunmetal Geisha

A case of chronic dichotomy

An Artist at Heart

Tales of life, stories of fiction, and a passion for art

ronovanwrites

Writing to Discover My Self In the World

Scattered Wrecks Fiction

Short Stories and Stuff

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

New World Mom

We are Stronger Together

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Becoming Vincent

Trans stuff. Ranting. Social justice. Big clocks.

An Honest Sinner

Because nobody likes a lying saint

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

My Likes lol

Pictures, Videos and Gifs that make me lol.

dilettante factory

home of Dilettante Publishing and the diverse creative outlet of HK Abell

Serins Sphere

Serins has left the building

