RSS

A Pirate is Thankful

05 Jul
A Pirate is Thankful

ahoy there and welcome to July!! I decided to make an appearance this week and see if I can’t spread a little pirate happiness around the blogosphere.

So here goes, in no particular order.

1. Thankful for getting a few paying freelance jobs! Elance and Fiverr are a couple of nice sites to get your name out there and make your online presence known!

2. Thankful that just as my writing is starting to pick up, I also was able to get a part-time job to help out between the good and the bad weeks. Working part-time will still give me time for writing so I see it as a win-win!

3. Thankful my SUV (or anyone else’s vehicle) was not parked underneath one of our large oak trees when it decided to drop an very large branch!

4. Thankful for said branch for providing a fire pit full of wood for a weekend bonfire!

5. Thankful for naturally curly hair and a talented hairdresser to cut it so it’s cool for the weather and easy to take care of for work!

6. Thankful my dear darling knucklehead didn’t hurt himself seriously when he fell off our back porch steps. It was early in the morning and not completely light out yet. He decided to let everyone sleep in and go to breakfast at the local diner and check in with the guys. Why he didn’t turn the outside light on I have no idea but I heard the door open moments after he left with him moaning, I fell! So much for me sleeping in. I helped brush him off and off he went again!

7. Thankful the neighborhood fireworks didn’t bother my neighbor’s livestock. He has a pregnant female cow so we didn’t want a firecracker calf in the middle of the night!

8. Thankful my friend down the street seems to be responding well to treatments for her ovarian cancer. She had surgery but is still having to do chemo. So far, so good!

9. Thankful my hubby has reconnected with his youngest daughter and that she lives close enough that we will be able to see her from time to time.

10. Thankful for wonderful support from fellow bloggers! I know I have mentioned this before but it bears repeating. I’ve got a couple of guest posts in the works and I am always thankful for the encouragement I get from other more talented writers!!

And there you have it!! 10 wonderful, thankful tidbits!!

 
21 Comments

Posted by on July 5, 2014 in Blog hops

 

21 responses to “A Pirate is Thankful

  1. Kim Tackett

    July 5, 2014 at 6:19 pm

    Looks like you have an attitude of gratitude, and also a sense of humor! Good for you for getting to ten!

     
  2. doreenb8

    July 5, 2014 at 7:00 pm

    I hope the cow wasn’t too scared. It would of had a stroke on our neighborhood. It was so loud.
    I love hearing positive stories of parents reconnecting with estranged children. Life is too short…

     
  3. lrconsiderer

    July 5, 2014 at 7:07 pm

    WOW! Not so great about the falling branch and the falling husband, but good that both situations came to rights 🙂 That’s awesome. And congrats on the jobs.

    Just keep writing, writing, writing… 🙂

     
    • msenecal68

      July 6, 2014 at 12:13 am

      Thanks Lizzi! Yep things could have been worse on both counts so that’s why I included them as thankfuls!!

      Yes, I have been trying to write more! I may have picked up an ongoing gig in an online magazine. I did 2 for the upcoming July issue and got great feedback for the editor!!

       
      • lrconsiderer

        July 6, 2014 at 12:26 am

        That’s brilliant – well done you 😀

         
  4. The Regular Guy NYC

    July 5, 2014 at 7:28 pm

    Hope you had a great Fourth of July! Enjoy the weekend!

     
    • msenecal68

      July 6, 2014 at 12:15 am

      Hi Phil! The weekend (so far) has been pretty good, just dodging the ever present, every day showers that come with summer in Florida!

       
  5. cgnos

    July 5, 2014 at 11:30 pm

    Thank you so much Melissa for mentioning my blog Warrior Series Books! Love Ya and see you on girls night out??

     
  6. Carol Cassara (@ccassara)

    July 6, 2014 at 1:06 am

    Definitely some big things to be thankful for!
    Carol
    http://www.carolcassara.com

     
  7. Roz Warren

    July 6, 2014 at 1:31 am

    that’s where you live? Looks lovely, fallen branch and all. Mazel tov on the jobs. Working part time is perfect for a writer — brings some $$ in and gets you out of the house — and gives you something to write about too,

     
  8. dltolley

    July 6, 2014 at 2:18 pm

    I love blogs like yours! We all need a little reminder of the blessings in our lives! Thank you for sharing yours . . .

     
  9. Christine

    July 6, 2014 at 2:23 pm

    Ah, those falling limbs can be scary. We live on a 150 year old farm, which means 150 year old trees. We seem to have a limb (or entire tree) come down almost weekly. So far, no damage. Keeping our fingers crossed, since we can’t just cut down all 1,000 trees before they drop limbs.
    I pray for continued good news for your friend undergoing chemo.
    Lucky you, having a good hairdresser for your curly hair! Whenever I find one, she gets up and moves. I’ve had some pretty horrible haircuts lately.
    Congrats on the writing gigs!

     
    • msenecal68

      July 7, 2014 at 1:28 am

      Hi Christine! We only have 2 1/2 acres but there are large oak trees all around!! We get smaller ones on stormy/ windy days. (and this time of year in Florida, means almost everyday) We did get one that was struck by lightning or something last summer. We were leaving for a few days in NC and our neighbor said not an hour after we left, he heard a crash and realized we had a tree down. Adventures of country living and I wouldn’t trade it for anything!

       
  10. southmainmuse

    July 6, 2014 at 6:55 pm

    We have to park under trees too. Under pecan trees that can be very brittle when they get older. The same thought goes through my head when I see I big limb that has fallen. And yes, thank goodness your husband didn’t hurt himself in his fall.

     
  11. dyannedillon

    July 6, 2014 at 7:16 pm

    I have not fully embraced my naturally curly hair and have spent the past 53 years fighting it. Good for you for finding a cut you like.
    My husband once fell off the doorstep when he was loading our car in the pre-dawn for a beach vacation without turning on the porch light. Why don’t they turn on the porch light? He scraped his knees but good and did not enjoy a week of submerging them into salt water!

     
    • msenecal68

      July 7, 2014 at 1:32 am

      Hi Dyanne! I learned very young it was easier to go with it rather than fight it. The past year or so, I tried to let it grow out. It doesn’t grow down, it grows outward!! I had it cut in an all one length Bob and that didn’t work either!!
      As for husbands and turning on the lights, still haven’t figured that one out! He’s not that young anymore and it could have been a lot worse. Maybe this will make him pay attention, but I doubt it!!

       
  12. zoebyrd

    July 6, 2014 at 11:32 pm

    used to have curly hair…ringlets actually…now its long and straight… chemo hair… I have to say its the best thing I got from chemo! Glad the branch and hubs hitting the ground both ended rather uneventfully!

     
    • msenecal68

      July 7, 2014 at 1:36 am

      Hi Zoe! I did have a brief respite when I had my first child. All the curl fell out of my hair and I and no idea how to deal with it!! I didn’t own a curling iron, rollers or anything to that effect!! My best friend laughed at me when I called her up in a panic cause I didn’t know what to do with my hair!!

       
  13. Twindaddy

    July 8, 2014 at 4:28 pm

    Hooray for such a great week!

     
  14. msenecal68

    July 8, 2014 at 10:19 pm

    Thanks TD!! Been crazy this week, so far!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Introducing a new author and her new works

Welcome to the home of Brandi MacCurdy, author of The Destined Series

Chanda Kauffman-Harley

A Collection of My Poetry & Prose

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

Her Headache

A place to express myself through writing. a way to make sense of it all. Life as I see it.

Gunmetal Geisha

A case of chronic dichotomy

An Artist at Heart

Tales of life, stories of fiction, and a passion for art

ronovanwrites

Writing to Discover My Self In the World

Scattered Wrecks Fiction

Short Stories and Stuff

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Darla Halyk

We are Stronger Together

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Becoming Vincent

Trans stuff. Ranting. Social justice. Big clocks.

An Honest Sinner

Because nobody likes a lying saint

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

My Likes lol

Pictures, Videos and Gifs that make me lol.

dilettante factory

home of Dilettante Publishing and the diverse creative outlet of HK Abell

Serins Sphere

Serins has left the building

