RSS

Alcohol is cheaper than therapy

01 Aug
Alcohol is cheaper than therapy

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not trying to downplay or belittle anyone who seeks professional help. In my case, I don’t have the money to pay for it and I don’t have insurance to help with the cost. I don’t have anything seriously wrong, just the normal, everyday stress of gettin by and trying to do what’s best for my family. And besides, what kind of pirate would I be if I didn’t have rum?!?!

There have been times in my life where I have turned to alcohol to soothe, relax and just be able to back up and get some perspective. One particular instance sticks out in my mind. My father was getting married in North Carolina a few years ago. I was living in Florida, so I made arrangements to fly up for the weekend. (by myself, no hubby,,no kid!) My daughter and her boyfriend were going to drive out from Louisiana. My dad’s wife had two daughter’s from a previous marriage and her and my dad had a daughter together. The 4 of us girls were going to stay at their house and my daughter and boyfriend had a hotel room.

After the ceremony, all us girls took all the gifts and such back to the house. We were all just relaxing and me and my daughter went out on the pouch to talk. She admitted some serious things that had happened to her when she was younger. My ex-husband had gotten custody of her when we divorced. After that revealation, I went back in the house where the younger of my 2 step sisters preceded to start acting like she owned the place and I had no say so what so ever. After listening to her repeat several times “This is my momma’s house!!” I had had enough. I got up and told them I was going to the hotel with my daughter. She stated again whatever was on her mind with the phase, again about it being her momma’s house. The last thing I said before I left was “Don’t forget, it’s also my father’s house!!” The next morning my daughter was heading back home and the rest of us were supposed to go to a cookout at my step mother’s brother’s house and then the oldest step sister was going to give me a ride to the airport later in the day.

I got through the cookout, keeping my mouth shut and keeping to myself as much as possible. It had been a long, emotional weekend and I was mentally exhausted. The wedding had been a non-alcoholic affair and the only thing at the cookout was beer and I am not a beer drinker. I stayed just as long as I had to then got out of there as soon as I could. I knew I was going to get to the airport early but at this point I didn’t care. I wanted time to clear my head and upwind a bit. After checking in and making my way through security, my first thought was find what gate I needed to be at and the next thought was…airport bar. As I rode the escalator up to the terminal, I saw a sign come into view before I even reached the top….AJ’s Tavern. Maybe the universe was going to cut me some slack…..finally. I made a note of where I was and thought, find my gate, and come back here. As I stepped off the escalator and turned to my left, I was looking straight at the gate where I needed to be. Yes, the universe had decided I had had enough stress for the weekend, she was going to cut me some slack. And just across the concourse were the bathrooms! Bar, bathroom, gate!! I am in!!

Walking in I spied a guy with a Tampa Bay Bucs shirt. I said hi and asked if he was going to Tampa. (It was a direct flight.) He said yes and I said me too at which point he said “Might as well have a seat, they already announced there’s going to be a delay!” He was sitting at a high top table and offered me a seat. I ordered a Cap’t Morgan and settled myself down. There was another guy we struck up a conversation with at a table nearby. The three of us took turns watching each other’s bags during pee breaks and checking the departure board. Rounds were bought, laughs were had and everything was going great—–until they closed the bar! By this time it was late in the evening. I had already called hubby and told him I would call when we were leaving. It’s about an hour and a half drive to the airport so no reason for him to get there and sit around.

My two companions and I wandered our way to the gate. It seems the group waiting for this flight were the only ones in the airport! Finally we see a plane taxing up toward our gate. You could see everyone sitting up straighter, shuffling around, gathering up belongings. At this point we hear “Folks, we got good news and bad news. Good news is we have a plane, bad news is, we have no crew!” I guy stood up a yelled “I’ll fly the damn plane!” At this point, most of us probably would have let him! After another wait, we see a flight crew walking toward our gate! Finally! To the crews credit, they got everyone on and came around with the drink cart before we even left the gate. One of my companions was seated in the same row as me and the other directly behind. I was all for napping on my way home but a rum and coke appeared in my hand so what was I to do? I had two before the eyes slammed shut and my window became a pillow. Not passed out, just tired, worn out and wrung out.

Arriving in Tampa very, very late at night, my hubby took one look at me a asked if I had a buzz. Nope, completly drunk! He asked how long I had been at the airport. About 5 1/2 hours. Do you have any money left? Not sure, really not concerned about it at this point, take me home. Needless to say I slept the whole drive and woke up the next afternoon with a monster headache but it was all in the name of pirate adventure and coming to grips with demons.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 1, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Alcohol is cheaper than therapy

  1. The Regular Guy NYC

    August 1, 2014 at 8:06 pm

    Nothing like a little liquid therapy for what ails ya!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Introducing a new author and her new works

Welcome to the home of Brandi MacCurdy, author of The Destined Series

Chanda Kauffman-Harley

A Collection of My Poetry & Prose

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

Her Headache

A place to express myself through writing. a way to make sense of it all. Life as I see it.

Gunmetal Geisha

A case of chronic dichotomy

An Artist at Heart

Tales of life, stories of fiction, and a passion for art

ronovanwrites

Writing to Discover My Self In the World

Scattered Wrecks Fiction

Short Stories and Stuff

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

New World Mom

We are Stronger Together

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Becoming Vincent

Trans stuff. Ranting. Social justice. Big clocks.

An Honest Sinner

Because nobody likes a lying saint

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

My Likes lol

Pictures, Videos and Gifs that make me lol.

dilettante factory

home of Dilettante Publishing and the diverse creative outlet of HK Abell

Serins Sphere

Serins has left the building

