RSS

The Country Life

29 Sep
The Country Life

Slice of blue
In a low, grey sky
Hint of a rainbow
Trying to peek through

Lone tree standing
Like a guard
In the middle
Of a lush, green field

Cows parading
To the back of the pasture
There is a truck there
Must be feeding time

Smell of fresh cut hay
Still damp with dew
Last years’ rolls
Along the fence await

In the morning
A cardinal’s call
Trying to awaken
A sleeping world

At night
The cicadas call
An owl whispers
Another answers

The world I live in
The sights, the sounds
You might not understand
But I would take no other

Here is your favorite pirate on another short shore leave to regale you with adventure!
Yes my friends, the poetry bug bit me again! I had this rattling around in my head so I thought I would subject you to it so you could suffer along with me. Still not doing a lot of writing but trying to do a little better everyday. Hope this finds everyone well and enjoying whatever adventure life throws your way. Till my next shore leave, may the sun keep shining and the wind keep your sails full!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2014 in Random Wanderings

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “The Country Life

  1. serins

    September 30, 2014 at 9:35 am

    A Hoy, Matie! *Waves* 🙂

     
  2. The Regular Guy NYC

    October 1, 2014 at 6:19 pm

    Very nice poem. That does describe the country life. I’m still a big city boy though. The only cow I see here is on my dinner plate!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Introducing a new author and her new works

Welcome to the home of Brandi MacCurdy, author of The Destined Series

Chanda Kauffman-Harley

A Collection of My Poetry & Prose

Sidereal Catalyst

Writer - Mental Health Survivor - Advocate

Her Headache

A place to express myself through writing. a way to make sense of it all. Life as I see it.

Gunmetal Geisha

A case of chronic dichotomy

An Artist at Heart

Tales of life, stories of fiction, and a passion for art

ronovanwrites

Writing to Discover My Self In the World

Scattered Wrecks Fiction

Short Stories and Stuff

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Darla Halyk

We are Stronger Together

Kitt O'Malley

Love, Learn & Live with Bipolar Disorder

Becoming Vincent

Trans stuff. Ranting. Social justice. Big clocks.

An Honest Sinner

Because nobody likes a lying saint

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

My Likes lol

Pictures, Videos and Gifs that make me lol.

dilettante factory

home of Dilettante Publishing and the diverse creative outlet of HK Abell

Serins Sphere

Serins has left the building

